Health Update

Standard

Where have I been?? I have been hanging in there! I have been running sparatically, but I have been running. I have been sticking to this vegan thing – and I feel great! Energetic, my husband says my skin is super clear, I feel myself slimming a little.

The latest news in my life is that I am scheduled for a partial hysterectomy on December 8. I am having some prolapse issues and some bleeding because my uterus lining is thickening. The prolapse issues are my main problem. And most of you wont know what that is.

Well, I have had 4 kids. I give birth fast, in about 2 pushes or less. And they just come shooting out. So, imagine what kind of force that is on my body – my reproductive organs, bladder, and such. And, with every kid – the lining or “seat”, as the doctors call it, weakens and doesnt hold everything up and in the way it used to.

In short, I pee if I sneeze, couch, laugh suddenly, or move my left arm. …and sometimes when I run.

Is it all making sense now? The doctor told me that running and sneezing are the two hardest things on your bladder. Yeah. I know. Thanks.

So on December 8 I am having surgery to have everything put back into place, and (because of the bleeding issues) they are going to give me a partial hysterectomy by removing a part of my uterus but leaving in my ovaries and cervix.

Yes, I am fine. Trust me. I can never get pregnant ever again and I wont ever have another period. I cant tell you how thrilled I am about those to things.

Did you know that getting your tubes ties has a 1 in 400 chance of failure? 400??? That pretty much ensures that I would get pregnant again after getting my tubes tied. So this is a fantastic option for me.

I need to hurry and get this all over with so that my 1/2 marathon training is impacted the least. I have to be all fully recovered by the middle of January to stay on track. Prayers for a crazy good and fast recovery are very appreciated. I have never had surgery before, so I am a bit nervous about that. Anesthesia is a scary thing to me. Does anyone know if John Wages in in network with UHC???

Kidding, John. I threw that in there for fun.

5 responses »

  1. I had never been under anesthesia until I had my D&C. I was totally freaked out about it but it was actually fine, just weird. They were talking to me about work, I remember feeling funny for about a second and giggling from it then I remember nothing. Next time I woke up Jamin was there next to me. Wish I could be there for you, but mom will and that’s even better!

    Oh, and I can’t jump or sneeze without peeing myself either. Ah, the joys of having four kids and it totally tearing up your body!

  2. Go big or go home, that what Ginger always does! I love your attitude towards this … I suppose it’s better than alternative …. jogging down townlake. haearing a women yelling, “ma’am! ma’am! Ma’AM!” you turn around, look at her. She says, ” um….I think you dropped your uterus back there!” =)

  3. Well Ginger, I have had all kinds of surgery and anesthesia experience, and my only words of advice are if you have blood pressure that runs unusually high or low, have a consult with the anesthesiologist first. I have very low blood pressure, and anesthesia makes it go much lower, so I actually woke up in the middle of abdominal surgery while completely opened up on the table. I didn’t feel pain – just coldness – but I will NEVER forget it! haha. And now that I have terrified you, trust me, this will NEVER happen to you. Again, I have freakishly low blood pressure and it is a one in millions – probably billions – possibility. You will do GREAT and once you are recovered, which will be quick with just a partial hysterectomy, you will not have to deal with all that female crap. I am going through so much of that but don’t have health insurance or $$, so every day brings on new miserys. We will be praying like mad for you! Will you have to stay over in the hospital?

  4. Ginger, just want to give you a little encouragement about the whole surgery/anesthesia thing! I was very very frightened and nervous to have surgery, but literally the worst part (aside from the recovery) is the IV you get. After that, they’ll tell you that you’re going to feel like you’ve had a few drinks, and you do. And that happens quickly, and before you know it you’re so out of it and don’t even remember arriving in the surgery room. It seems way scarier than it is! If you can get a needle prick for an IV, you can do it!

Leave a comment